Wednesday, September 1, 2010

Austin Museum Day, September 19, 2010, 1-5 PM

The French Legation Museum celebrates Preservation - September 19, 2010
In conjunction with Austin Museum Partnership’s annual Museum Day Event

Preservation from the Ground Up:
The French Legation Museum’s 170 Years

Free community event to celebrate Historic Preservation in Texas. The iron gates of the French Legation will be opened for a fun, free, family event from 1-5 PM on Sunday, September 19, 2010. Stop by for a sneak peek of the historic home and learn more about how historic structures are preserved.

Construction of the French Legation began 170 years ago. Come celebrate this beginning as we explore the history of the Legation, as well as other Austin gems like Boggy Creek Farmhouse. Visitors will be given a rare opportunity to learn about the French Legation historic structure and the preservation projects that have kept the house alive for so many years. Historic film footage from the Texas Archive of the Moving Image will be shown throughout the afternoon. Special presenters include Carol Ann Sayle from Boggy Creek Farm and Dr. Kenneth Hafertepe from Baylor University. Old-fashioned toys and games will be available for children and adults alike and light refreshments will also be served.

The FRENCH LEGATION MUSEUM is a non-profit historic house museum. The structure was built to serve as the diplomatic outpost for King Louis Philippe of France to the Republic of Texas in 1841. The Legation originally sat on 22 acres of land, from today’s E. 7th Street to E. 11th Street, bordered by East Avenue (IH-35) and San Marcos Street.


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home

About Us | Contact Us | News & Events | Education | Get Involved | Take The Tour